WordPress Trickery

It was a rash decision to start a blog, in that I did not do my research in choosing the right platform to use. I was misled. Let me paint the picture…

I like to think of myself as a creative problem-solver. I want to know how things work and I am good enough at computers to do a little “housekeeping”. But I found myself getting frustrated why I could not edit the header.php for an added plugin to my blog. It seemed so easy, a simple copy and paste  and CSS finesse and I could add a plugin to a website without having to call support in India (?). I googled for about an hour to realize I messed up royally.

There are two WordPress blog sites; http://www.WordPress.com and http://www.WordPress.org. Now mine is published on the free .com blog where you don’t have to pay for a web server and setup is quick, but the catch is its uncustomizable. You cannot edit CSS stylesheets with WordPress.com unless you upgrade ($) to a Premium account. With the .org site, a user can modify CSS without having to pay any money. The download is free, but you need a few things (knowledge and tools) to get started.

Had I been forewarned, I would have chosen WordPress.org for my blog. It would have given me the opportunity to make changes and learn more about manipulating stylesheets.

One thought on “WordPress Trickery

  1. Like they say, “Live and learn!” Isn’t that true about life in general? Careful observation and assessment will show you the necessary changes, but the real effort is in making the changes; opening oneself up to recognizing that change is needed and feeling comfortable with your decisions. Good luck with your blog! I’m learning new things every time I read it!

Leave a Reply

