April 2013

blog. A place to express your thoughts without being judged. A way to be honest and converse freely. A place to share like interests and opinions. This is my way to explore writing in a new way & to tell the world who I am with this digital diatribe.

I started this blog to practice what I’m good at: writing. I articulate words on paper. I am a wordsmith who precisely chooses the perfect word. I aspire to be great; my writing that is.

I like style. Its what makes a good book (and of course plot). My favorite style is stream of consciousness. Sure Joyce is the King of this fluidity of thoughts, but I got to give it to Hunter S. Thompson. For a portrayal of such gritty, soul-sucking literature, you must give him a try.

I can learn from Thompson’s writing as I do from Krakauer and Fitzgerald. His descriptions are like visualizations. He tests one of the true fundamentals of good writing: Show, don’t tell. I sit down on my couch to read Fear and Loathing and am instantly transcended into a world of crazy dillusions and eerily truthful characters. His voice garners my respect as a writer.

So I leave you with this excerpt from Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. Maybe you can learn something too…

                 “1) Never trust a cop in a raincoat.
                  2) Beware of enthusiasm and of love, both are temporary    and quick to sway.
                  3) If asked if you care about the world’s problems, look deep into the eyes of he who asks, he will never ask you again.
                  4) Never give your real name.
                  5) If ever asked to look at yourself, don’t look.
                  6) Never do anything the person standing in front of you can’t understand.
                  7) Never create anything, it will be misinterpreted, it will chain you and follow you for the rest of your life.”

[Be forewarned, some future posts might read as irrational rants, all depending on one’s mood.]

Leave a Reply

